Open Accessibility Menu


Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics

Antelope Valley Hospital is the only hospital in the area to be approved by the County of Los Angeles as an Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics (EDAP). To qualify as an EDAP, a hospital emergency department must meet specific criteria, including requirements for pediatric equipment, physician coverage and ongoing pediatric education.

California Children’s Services Approved Hospital

Our Pediatric Department is a California Children’s Services (CCS) Approved Hospital, which means the department meets the standards and requirements for the state program. AVH is the only hospital in the area with this designation.

Chest Pain – MI Silver Performance Achievement Award (2019)

chest pain award

Presented by the National Cardiovascular Data Registry and the American College of Cardiology, the Chest Pain – MI Silver Performance Achievement Award recognizes AV Hospital for its performance in caring for patients with heart attack symptoms. The award reflects the hospital’s commitment to and success in implementing a higher standard of care for these patients. The hospital was one of 86 facilities nationwide to receive the honor.

Health and Human Services Platinum Recognition Award (2018)

platinum award

The HHS Platinum Award recognizes AVH’s efforts for raising awareness about organ donation. The hospital is one of only nine hospitals in an expansive southern California service area to receive the award, which is the highest honor for organ-and-tissue-donation awareness.

Certified Chest Pain Center(2018)

chest pain award

Antelope Valley Hospital received full Chest Pain Center Accreditation from the American College of Cardiology. The accreditation, initially earned in 2015, reaffirms the hospital’s comprehensive Institute for Heart & Vascular Care (IHVC) as the leading source of cardiovascular care in the Antelope Valley.

Blue Distinction® Center for Maternity Care (2021)

blue shield logo

Blue Shield of California and Anthem Blue Cross have recognized Antelope Valley Hospital (AVH) with a Blue Distinction® Center for Maternity Care designation as part of the Blue Distinction Specialty Care program. Blue Distinction Centers are nationally designated hospitals that show expertise in delivering improved patient safety and better health outcomes, based on objective measures that were developed with input from the medical community.

Reaccredited by The Joint Commission (2019)

AVH again earned The Joint Commission's Gold Seal of Approval for hospital accreditation by demonstrating continuous compliance with performance standards. The Gold Seal of Approval is a symbol of quality that reflects an organization's commitment to providing safe and effective patient care.

AVH underwent a rigorous, unannounced onsite survey. During the review a team of Joint Commission expert surveyors evaluated compliance with hospital standards related to several areas, including emergency management, environment of care, infection prevention and control, leadership, and medication management. Surveyors also conducted onsite observations and interviews. The accreditation is awarded for a three-year period.

Breast Milk Depot (2017)

Antelope Valley Hospital (AVH) has been named a designated Breast Milk Depot by BreastfeedLA, a nonprofit breastfeeding advocacy organization in Los Angeles. AVH is one of only two designated milk collection sites in the county. The designation means breastfeeding moms can now drop off breast milk at AVH; it will then be processed, pasteurized and distributed to infants in need of this vital resource.

National Comprehensive Community Cancer Center Accredited (2020)

commission on cancer logo

The Antelope Valley Hospital (AVH) cancer program earned a three-year accreditation from the Commission on Cancer (CoC), a multidisciplinary program of the American College of Surgeons. AVH is the only hospital in the area to receive this accreditation. To earn CoC accreditation, a cancer program must meet 34 specific quality care standards, be re-evaluated every three years, and maintain excellence in the delivery of comprehensive patient-centered care.

Recognized by The Joint Commission as a “Top Performer” (2016)

the joint commission logo

Antelope Valley Hospital was recognized as a Top Performer on Key Quality Measures® by The Joint Commission, the leading accreditor of healthcare organizations in the United States. AVH was the only hospital in the Antelope Valley to achieve this honor. The Top Performer program recognizes hospitals for outstanding performance on evidence-based interventions that increase the chances of healthy outcomes for patients with certain conditions. AVH was commended for its performance in five Key Quality Measures: heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia, surgical care and perinatal care.

Certified Chest Pain Center (2015)

cpc logo

Antelope Valley Hospital (AVH) received full Chest Pain Center (CPC) Accreditation from the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care (SCPC), making it the first facility in the Antelope Valley to achieve this designation. This comes just one year after opening the comprehensive Institute for Heart & Vascular Care (IHVC) located on the hospital campus.

Certified Healthcare District (2015)

ACHD logo

The Antelope Valley Healthcare District (AVHD) was one of the first districts in the state to be named a Certified Healthcare District by the Association of California Healthcare Districts (ACHD). This prestigious designation certifies that the AVHD has demonstrated, among other things, best practices in governance and is conducting business in a transparent manner.

Baby‑Friendly Birth Facility (2015)

baby-friendly logo

Baby-Friendly USA, Inc., the accrediting body of the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative in the U.S. designated AVH as a Baby-Friendly birth facility. This prestigious designation means that AVH has met the gold standard in maternity care operations and supports breastfeeding and mother/baby bonding.

Advanced Primary Stroke Center Certification (2019)

stroke center logo

AVH received Advanced Primary Stroke Center Certification from The Joint Commission and the Los Angeles County Emergency Medical Services Agency. This designation signifies that AVH has the equipment, infrastructure, staff, and training programs needed to quickly diagnose and treat patients presenting with acute stroke.

Health Services Advisory Group Award (2014)

Antelope Valley Hospital was recognized by the HSAG, a Quality Improvement Organization for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), for its dedication to patient safety. The recognition highlights the hospital’s success in reducing healthcare-associated infections.

Recognition from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for Excellence in Organ Donation (2012)

organ donation

Antelope Valley Hospital was one of 22 hospitals throughout the seven-county greater Los Angeles area that were recognized by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) with a Medal of Honor for meeting the standards for excellence in organ donation set by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). AVH was recognized with a Silver Medal of Honor in 2012 for meeting or exceeding two out of three national goals during the 24-month measurement period.

Approved STEMI Receiving Center (2007)

emergency medical services

AVH was named a STEMI (ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction) Receiving Center. One of only 34 such hospitals in Los Angeles County, this certification means that AVH has the training, equipment and processes in place to immediately treat patients experiencing acute cardiac myocardial infarction (heart attack). This results in an earlier definitive diagnosis and treatment resulting in improved outcomes.